Safety & Employee Development Section


Chair: James Owens, Atmos Energy, Mid-Texas Division

Executive Council Liaison: Shantel Norman, ONE Gas, Inc.

SGA Committee Manager: Rishi Chauhan, Southern Gas Association


The purpose of the Safety & Employee Development Section Managing Committee is to provide opportunities to share in experiences, lessons learned, challenges, and successes of SGA member companies. This committee focuses on safety and health issues and regulations of systems and people. The committee evaluates issues and challenges and makes recommendations to the Executive Council on SGA’s policies, plans, and tactics for addressing identified challenges and opportunities.

The committee provides educational and networking opportunities to industry peers through our roundtable at the SGA Management Conference, oversees the activities of sub committees focused on specific areas, and provides guidance to SGA staff on appropriate areas of focus for the association.

The committee meets in person at planning meetings, conferences, and periodically by conference call.


  • James Owens, Chair | Atmos Energy, Mid-Texas Division
  • Mark Drake, Member | Southern Company Gas
  • Theresa Lucado, Member | Washington Gas
  • Chris Taylor, Associate Member | Industrial Training Services, Inc.
  • Jon Nixon, Member | CenterPoint Energy
  • Christopher Loy, Member | Mountaineer Gas Company
  • Trey Steiner, Member | CenterPoint Energy
  • Jeff Whitaker, Member | Frontier Natural Gas Company
  • Shantel Norman, Executive Council Liaison | ONE Gas, Inc.
  • Buz Holloway, Member | Williams Companies
  • Jeff Cabral, Member | Columbia Gas of Virginia, Inc.
  • Jessica C Stiles, Member | TC Energy USA Pipeline Services, LLC
  • Gaye Lynn Schaffart, Member | Tenaska Marketing Ventures
  • Brandy Silvio, Member | Boardwalk Pipelines
  • Rishi Chauhan, SGA Committee Manager | Southern Gas Association
  • Scott D Bush, Member | Liberty Utilities
  • Trevor Rice, Member | ENSTOR