Customer Growth & Development

Codes and Standards


Chair: James M. Joseph, Southern Company Gas

Vice Chair: Andrea Lanier Papageorge, Southern Company Gas

Second Vice Chair: Allen Tucker, Clearwater Gas System


The mission of the Codes & Standards Committee is to provide opportunities to share in experiences, lessons learned, challenges, and successes of SGA member companies. This committee is charged with identifying and relaying Code information that affects the bottom line by connecting SGA members with updates, regulatory issues, and technology changes relevant and appropriate to promote the use of natural gas. This committee is composed of subject matter experts within the industry and committed to the safe and reliable delivery of clean natural gas.

Who We Are? Natural Gas industry codes and standards professionals.

What We Do? The Committee’s efforts include educational webinars, developing and creating educational material for employees and learning & sharing information.

Where We Meet? The Codes & Standards Committee meets on monthly conference calls, educational webinars and an annual conference.


  • James M Joseph, Chair | Southern Company Gas
  • Bill W. Stephens, Member | Black Hills Energy
  • Thomas H. Schultz, Member | Spire
  • Renée Lani, Industry Advisor | American Public Gas Association (APGA)
  • Pete R Dyson, Member | Texas Gas Service
  • Jon S. Russell, Member | Clearwater Gas System
  • Jeff Cremin, Member | Xcel Energy
  • Garrett Shuman, SGA Staff Liaison | Southern Gas Association
  • Daniel Lapato, Ex-Officio Member | American Gas Association
  • Chris Akins, Member | Xcel Energy
  • Allen Tucker, Second Vice Chair | Clearwater Gas System
  • Andrea Lanier Papageorge, First Vice Chair | Southern Company Gas