Award Programs

 SGA Award Programs 

Southern Gas Association provides a variety of award programs to highlight efforts in the natural gas industry by sharing what organizations and individuals are doing to enhance the industry.  


Community Service Award  (Back to Top)

The Community Service Award is given to recognize the most effective service and/or outreach program that improves the community. For more information please visit the Community Service Award webpage


Corporate Communications Award  (Back to Top)

The CAP is an award which focuses on SGA member company programs that improve corporate effectiveness through the use of communications. Entries should be innovative and clearly demonstrate that communications were a cornerstone of the program that improved corporate effectiveness. For more information please visit the Corporate Communications Award webpage


Engineering Innovation Award  (Back to Top) 

This award recognizes engineering professionals or work groups who have developed and implemented innovative processes or programs. For more information please visit the Engineering Innovation Award webpage


Environmental Excellence Award (Back to Top) 

This award recognizes companies who have made significant impacts in protecting the environment by supporting environmental programs on the job or in the community. This award program also provides a forum for sharing of innovative environmental practices. Through utilization of innovative environmental practices, SGA member companies reduce waste, save money, and contribute to the industry’s environmental protection efforts, as well as benefit the health and welfare of the nation. For more information please visit the Environmental Excellence Awards webpage.

Emergency Management Awards (Back to Top) 

This award recognizes excellence in emergency management with different focuses every year. Learn more about the program on the Emergency Management Awards webpage.


GMRC Edward N. Henderson Award (Back to Top) 

This award recognizes who have made significant contributions to the gas industry as a whole.  This award is sponsored by the Gas Machinery Research Council.  


Leaders Make a Difference (Back to Top) 

This award is given to a member nominated by the membership or staff who has demonstrated exceptional leadership in support of the Southern Gas Association. This award seeks that person who has gone above and beyond. They have either provided Committee leadership in some unique way, or developed a project collaboratively with peer members. The results of their efforts impacted SGA in a way that made SGA more relevant to the membership. 


Marketing Excellence Award  (Back to Top)

Each year the SGA Marketing Section Managing Committee opens this exclusive competition to SGA members. The Marketing Excellence Award is dedicated to identifying marketing campaigns that demonstrate success with measurable results in the following: Residential, Commercial/Industrial, Innovative Energy Efficiency Marketing and Advertising. For more information please visit the Marketing Excellence Award webpage.


Safety and Health Awards  (Back to Top)

 Safety Awards are a means by which companies recognize performance. These awards are provided to member companies to stimulate interest in and add incentive to safety programs.

  • Humanitarian Award- Is designed to recognize industry employees(s) whose Good Samaritan actions promote human welfare and community responsibility. If possible, the Good Samaritan actions should be related to training provided by member companies.

  • Meritorious Award-  Is designed to recognize industry employee(s) who display courageous actions to save or attempt to save lives. If possible, the courageous action should be related to the training provided by member companies. For more information please visit the Safety and Health Award webpage.

Volunteer Leaders Service Awards (Back to Top) 

SGA has over 50 interest groups, and each one is managed by a committee. Each year, SGA recognizes the leadership for those committees through the Volunteer Leaders Service Award.